SMOscript 0.18

The most recent version of SMOscript fixes an SMO exception caused by duplicate initialization as described in my previous post.

SMOscript is available for download here.

5 Responses to SMOscript 0.18

  1. E says:


    Could you consider including “USE [db]” statements at the beginning of each table script? This would be helpful for multiple databases on a server.

    Also, it would be nice if the -f option appendeded the scripts to the contents of a file if the file already exists.


  2. Wes Brown says:

    So, how did you correct the problem? I’ve searched and dug and know exactly where it is blowing up but other than catching the error and ignoring it I have yet to find a solution.

  3. Could you open source this tool? Otherwise I will just go write my own and contribute it to SQLPSX Codeplex project.

    My major gripe with the current tool is:

    (a) I want more control over the output, including dumping Permissions on objects. e.g. if I have a create table statement in a file in the Table directory, then after the create table statement I should be able to optionally append “grant select” and so forth. — Why have you chosen not to support this, by the way?

    (b) Smaller issue: I can’t build it from source, so I am extra paranoid and use WireShark to see if you are connecting to any servers other than the one I specify (e.g., I don’t want you sending my password info anywhere since I have government regulated privacy/security requirements).

  4. […] has been a lot of feedback on SMOscript 0.18, and some feature request are now […]

  5. Hi,

    I concur John “Z-Bo” Zabroski above. In particular I’m looking for the feature that adds the ability to script object level permissions while generating the objects?

    If not, it would be great if you could open source this code base so that we can make this modification?

Leave a Reply

