Open Data

When I developed my YuJisho online dictionary web application, I was looking for freely available fonts and dictionary data related to CJK languages.

For my dbscript database schema management application, I tried to find as many database schema samples as possible to test the application against.

There is a lot of data (raw, processed and visualized) available on the Internet, but occasionally it is hard to find. This raised the idea of providing a collection of references to free data sets on the web like the Guardian Data Store, and I was thinking about a platform to provide such links.

Now news is out that plan to release their platform as open source software (GitHub), but the code is still labeled as alpha. ( HTML says it is based on Socrata, which also provides lots of links to open data).

Let me know what’s your experience with OpenData, or similar platforms.

Leave a Reply

